Reflections on the Wilderness

A campfire is the storybook of the wilderness. There is so much there for the looking. My fire tells me how the sun poured energy into the soil to thelp grow the tree whose branches are now burning. I can feel the heat of that sun even now, many years later, under the cold stars.

My fire makes me think of the hundreds of creatures which knew this tree. I see in the coal-pictures the buffalo browsing, the porcupine gnawing, the rhino rubbing and the worms and insects chewing. I hear in the crackle and squeak the song of the birds, and the whole pattern of things natural is unfolded before me.

Who can be lonely with such company?

Leave a Reply

